MCERF Presented Scholarships at MCAA18

April 10, 2018

MCERF announced the recipients of four MCERF Scholarships created to honor the industry leaders they are named after. The students receiving these scholarships were selected by our Career Development Committee for their exceptional academic performance, leadership skills, interest in developing a career in the mechanical industry, work ethic and technical abilities.

McCarl Scholarship MCAA18

Jared Kirkland, a senior at Kansas State University, took home the Foster J. McCarl, Jr. Memorial Scholarship. Shawn McCarl of S.P. McCarl & Company, the scholarship sponsor, presented the check for $2,500.

Bianco Scholarship MCAA18

Ben Pikus, a senior at Kent State University, took home The William A. Bianco, Jr. Memorial Scholarship sponsored by Kinetics. Kinetics Executive Vice President Global Operations Michael Cables, an MCAA past president, was on hand to present the $5,000 check.

Reilly Scholarship MCAA18

Zachary Queen, a junior at Kansas State University, received The Reilly Family Memorial Scholarship. Robert Beck and Nick Optis of John W. Danforth Company, the scholarship’s sponsor, presented the check for $5,000.

O'Shea Scholarship MCAA18

Ruth Edgar and Nate Snyder, both juniors at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln, took home The Alan O’Shea Memorial Scholarship, marking the first time two scholarships were awarded. Kevin Armistead and Marty Drobny, representing MCA of New Jersey, the scholarship’s sponsor, were on hand to present the $2,500 checks.

Related Articles
Anna Rowe, a junior from the Milwaukee School of Engineering, and Sarah Drummey, a senior from the University of Nebraska – Lincoln, each received a $5,000 Women in the Mechanical Industry scholarship. The scholarships, which were presented by Women in the Mechanical Industry Co-Chair Jaimi Lomas, who is also Chair of MSCA, recognize the students’ exceptional scholastic achievement and leadership skills. Women in the Mechanical Industry is a new forum to further enrich the careers of women in the industry through networking, educational, mentoring and career development opportunities beyond those already offered through membership in MCAA and MSCA.…
MCAA’s Awards of Excellence Breakfast, with breakfast sponsored by NIBCO, honored and celebrated MCAA members’ and future professionals’ excellence throughout the year and at MCAA 2017. MCAA President Tom Stone kicked off the event by announcing the winners of the NIBCO Tennis Round-Robin, the Anvil International Fun Run/Walk and the Victaulic/Carrier Golf Tournament. Following a round of applause for all award winners, President Stone presented the major awards.…
Outstanding MCAA student chapters, an educator and students’ achievements were celebrated at the Annual Awards Breakfast on March 23.…