2023-2024 Student Chapter Competition

April 5, 2024
Pictured: Andrew Palcan (Career Development Committee Chair), Randall Chenworth (MCA Metro Washington), Gabriel Assan (student), Gabriella Anthony (student), Fitzgerald Walker (University of Maryland, College Park), Tom Bello (MCA Metro Washington), Michael Moran (MCA Metro Washington President and VP at Comfort Control Inc.), and Robert Beck (MCAA President).

At the MCAA24 Awards of Excellence Breakfast on March 20th, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo was awarded the top prize of $10,000 and a trophy for their outstanding work on the 2023-2024 Student Chapter Competition.

CalPoly San Luis Obispo Sponsoring Local Affiliate: Northern California MCA
• Alex Hall – Executive Vice President
• Mike Stirling – Director of Member Relations

Faculty Advisors
• Paul Redden
• Joseph Cleary

The University of Wisconsin-Stout was the runner-up, placing second and received a trophy and a check for $5,000. 

Ball State University and McMaster University rounded out the final four. Both Honorable Mention finalists received trophies and $2,500 checks.

Six teams (out of the 24 submissions) were recognized with Merit Trophies and checks for $1,000. They are, in alphabetical order: 

  • California State University, Chico
  • Kansas State University
  • Kent State University
  • Missouri State University
  • Pittsburg State University
  • University of Maryland, College Park

The project involved submitting a proposal as the prime mechanical contractor for the Kansas City Zoo Aquarium. This included all piping, HVAC, controls and additional work required from the bid documents.  

Thank you to the following companies for their special contributions to the project:

  • MMC Contractors National, Inc. (supplying the project)
    • Jeremy Millard (Introduction & What Really Happened)
  • Procore (use of Project Management software)
  • Trimble (use of Trimble Estimation MEP software)
  • Ferguson (providing pricing for pipe values and fittings)

MCAA Career Development Committee – Judges

  • Justin Blackledge, The Waldinger Corporation – Omaha
  • Anne Finerfrock, W.E. Bowers
  • Sarabeth Gandara, U.S. Engineering Construction
  • Scott Hinton, Enerfab Power and Industrial, Inc.
  • Michael Russo, Fresh Meadow Mechanical Corporation
  • Kurt Voss, Integrated Facility Services
  • John Ziemann, Mollenberg-Betz, Inc.

Thank you as well to the Chair of the Career Development Committee, Andrew Palcan of Helm Group, for serving as the emcee for the competition in Orlando!

The MCAA Career Development Committee is currently hard at work planning for the 2024-2025 project. The next project will be announced this fall, and a Q&A session is on the schedule for the GreatFutures Forum in Seattle (September 26–28). Registration for the full conference is complimentary for MCAA contractor members and includes the GreatFutures Job Fair on Friday morning. Watch mcaa.org and MCAA’s National Update e-newsletter for information as the date gets closer.

Most Valuable Presenter

The Career Development Committee recognized a student who did the best job presenting their proposal, whether or not their team won. The audience members voted live between schools and ultimately Hans Stelpflug of the University of Wisconsin-Stout was awarded a trophy, a $500 gift card, a complimentary seat in MCAA’s Preparatory Institute for Project Management, and the title of 2023-2024 Most Valuable Presenter. 

Hans is majoring in construction management and will graduate this spring.

University of Wisconsin-Stout Sponsoring Local Affiliate:
Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association

Faculty Advisor:
• Dean Wirtanen

Trimble Future Estimator Scholarship

The Trimble Future Estimator Scholarship was developed to recognize a student not only interested in mechanical contracting, but specifically to a student with an interest in being a mechanical estimator upon graduation.  This $5,000 scholarship is available to a student who participated in the Final Four round of the MCAA Student Chapter Competition.

Pictured: Brian Helm (JRGF President), Daniel DeSoto (CalPoly), Rocco Bognet (Trimble), Ron King (Trimble), and Robert Beck (MCAA President)

Trimble Future Estimator Scholarship Winner:
Daniel DeSoto – California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Congratulations to all the 2023-2024 participating teams!

Load More...