MCAA’s GreatFutures Virtual Fall Program

Date

September 15, 2020 - November 17, 2020

Fee

$0

MCAA will be hosting live sessions each week, available to all students, faculty advisors and MCAA members, beginning September 15 through November 17.

The program is aimed to help give the next generation of mechanical contracting leaders a deeper understanding of the industry and the ins and outs of creating a construction bid. Each session will be taught by MCAA industry leaders and navigate students through the competition project with online instructional sessions focused on components of a real-world contracting bid.

Included in this program will be the annual MCAA Student Chapter Competition, which will be released virtually to student chapters through Procore. The competition gives students the opportunity to apply what they’ve learned in the classroom by creating a bid for a real-life mechanical construction project.

The fall schedule includes:

Tuesday Sept. 15 3:00 p.m. EDT GreatFutures Virtual Fall Program Introduction
Thursday Sept. 17 1:00 p.m. EDT Student Chapter Competition Overview
Tuesday Sept. 22 3:00 p.m. EDT Procore Overview: Learning About Construction Management Software
Thursday Sept. 24 1:00 p.m. EDT Young Professionals Panel: Kickstarting Your Student Competition Project
Tuesday Sept. 29 3:00 p.m. EDT Intro to WebLEM+Plus
Thursday Oct. 1 1:00 p.m. EDT Basics of Estimating for a Project
Tuesday Oct. 6 3:00 p.m. EDT Project Organizational Chart: Staffing Your Project
Thursday Oct. 8 1:00 p.m. EDT Scheduling 101
Tuesday Oct. 13 3:00 p.m. EDT How Companies Use Fabrication
Tuesday Oct. 20 3:00 p.m. EDT The Business Side of Safety
Thursday Oct. 22 1:00 p.m. EDT Identifying Project Risks
Tuesday Oct. 27 3:00 p.m. EDT Digital Process of BIM
Thursday Oct. 29 1:00 p.m. EDT Highlighting MCAA’s Women in the Mechanical Industry Mentor/Mentee Program
Tuesday Nov. 3 3:00 p.m. EST Understanding Service
Thursday Nov. 5 1:00 p.m. EST Services Sales: The Importance of Planned Maintenance
Tuesday Nov. 10 3:00 p.m. EST Understanding Finances of a Job
Thursday Nov. 12 1:00 p.m. EST Organizing Your Proposal
Tuesday Nov. 17 3:00 p.m. EST Competition Panel Wrap-Up

MCAA’s GreatFutures Virtual Fall Program is sponsored by:

Please contact Megan Walsh if you have questions about the GreatFutures Virtual Fall Program or any of our student activities.

Contact the MCAA Meetings Department at eventregistration@mcaa.org if you have any questions or issues logging into the event website.

EVENT WEBSITE

Suggested Attendees:

Students, faculty advisors and MCAA members

Ready to sign up?

Register

PREVIOUS EVENTNEXT EVENT